Kale Chips

We’re starting to get to the end of spring here in Virginia. Know how I can tell? Everyone’s tired of eating greens! Lettuce, spinach, tatsoi, beet greens, now kale. We’re ready for some tomatoes and peppers and corn around here!

But in the meantime, so as not to waste spring’s generous green bounty, here’s a recipe for yet one more way to prepare greens. This recipe has the advantage of making them into something crispy–not what you normally think when you think of greens.

I won’t say these taste like potato chips, because they don’t. (If you want something that does, try Nature’s Potato Chip.) They have their very own kale-ish taste. I like them, though, as something new and different. They keep my taste buds from getting bored! (They do stay on your breath, though. Probably not a good dish to serve on a date!)

This recipe is based on one that Amy Bell contributed to eatdrinkbetter.com.

Kale Chips

Start with 5-8 oz. fresh kale. (I use Lacinato–the curly kind–because that’s what I have in the garden.) Wash it, remove the stems, and cut or tear into 3-4″ pieces. Put in a large bowl.

In a small dish, combine 1 T. olive oil and 1/2 T. apple cider vinegar. Pour over the kale and toss to coat. Sprinkle with 2 T. grated Parmesan cheese and a pinch of salt. Toss again until kale is evenly coated. Spread onto a large baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes at 375°F, until crispy and brown around the edges. (No need to grease the pan; the kale won’t stick.)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. katsmama says:

    I wish I had known about Kale chips 2 years ago- we had a CSA membership where we would get at least 2 bunches of kale per week- there was other stuff, but I never knew what the heck to do with all that kale.

    1. Sharon says:

      Seriously! CSA’s seem to chronically overestimate the demand for greens… but they’re just so easy to grow…

  2. thebeadden says:

    I make these quite often. Sometimes drizzle them with a touch of vinegar and sea salt. Spice them up with a bit of cayenne or cumin. Tasty!

  3. Laura from the Accidental Pumpkin says:

    I made these for the first time last year, and enjoyed them myself. I would crumble them over pasta to be sneaky with the kids. It worked pretty well!

    1. Sharon says:

      Hey, that’s a great idea! A pasta topping…

  4. kate says:

    I love kale chips! I’ve never put cider vinegar on them. I usually just do olive oil and salt. I’ll have to try that.

  5. Dina says:

    sounds interesting, we’ll give it a go.

Leave a Reply

