Of Tatsoi, Beets and Duck Eggs…

Mmm…tatsoi…

When it came time for lunch today, I knew I needed to use a bunch of produce from the garden. All the rain has made everything grow twice as fast, and it seems there’s already more available than we’ll ever be able to eat. Today my mission was to use a lot of tatsoi. I’ve got several beautiful bunches in the garden, and some of the older ones are starting to send up flower stalks, so it’s time to get munching!

I also had a random beet that I pulled out of the garden this morning. The greens of all my beets have started to droop a little lately, and I was worried that they had some problem with their roots. So I pulled one up. It looked just fine: small (an ounce and a half), but well on its way to honorable rootdom. So that went into the pile of things to eat for lunch, along with the beet tops.

And then there was the carton of duck eggs we picked up at the local farmers’ market last weekend, out of curiosity. What to do with this bunch of ingredients?

Well, here’s what I came up with. And it was delicious, if I do say so myself. A new flavor in every bite…

Duck Egg and Beets over Stir-Fried Greens

for 1 serving

Boil a small pot of water. Add 1 beet and simmer until you can stick a fork all the way into its center. Remove from water, peel, and chop.

Meanwhile, heat 1 T. olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. When hot, add 1 clove of garlic, minced. Sauté for 1 minute. Add 5 or 6 oz. of tatsoi and beet greens, chopped into 1/2″ slices. Sauté a few minutes, until withered. Amass the greens in a flat pile in the center of the skillet and crack 1 duck egg over them. Break the yolk with a fork and spread it out a little to cook faster. (Duck eggs are big!) Reduce heat to medium low, cover, and cook until the egg is done the way you like it. The egg should have seeped into the greens, holding them together so you can remove the whole thing from the skillet with a spatula. Put it on a plate and top with salt, pepper, sliced green onions, and beets!

It was good!

2 thoughts on “Of Tatsoi, Beets and Duck Eggs…

    • Good to know! I hope I’m going to have some chickens in not too long. (We can’t have them in our subdivision, but I’m looking for a piece of property elsewhere…) Until then, I guess the compost pile will have to enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

