You Were Right about the Peas!

At the end of February, I wrote a post about last year’s abysmal failure growing peas. But I said that, despite all the non-germinating seeds and withered seedlings of last year, I was giving it another go, planting several feet each of Amish Snap, Mammoth Melting Sugar, and Burpeeana Early. And, my dear readers, you responded with great encouragement. You gave me all sorts of tips (most of which I’m sorry I couldn’t use, because the peas were already in the ground…), and you said this would surely be my year for a good pea harvest.

Well, you were absolutely right! After eating a few precocious pods on our salade “niçoise” earlier this week, we brought in the first substantial harvest last night: almost half a pound of Amish Snaps! And oh, my goodness, were they delicious. They were off the vine for less than half an hour before we cooked them, briefly and delicately, according to a recipe recommended by Kristin Kimball in her delightful book The Dirty Life. I’ve thought that peas were good before, but these peas…these were like candy.

Petits pois à la menthe

To prepare a 1/2 pound of snap peas (or 1 cup of shelled peas, if that’s what you’re working with), heat 1 cup of milk and 1 T. butter over medium heat until hot but not yet boiling. Add the peas and gently simmer just until they turn a brighter green. You want them to soften a little but not go limp. Remove them from the heat, and top with a few finely chopped mint leaves and salt and pepper.

The smell of the mint in the peas originally surprised me, as it isn’t a pairing I’m used to. But the flavor was very subtle, and I quickly started getting flashbacks to a trip to Morocco. Mint tea is everywhere there, to the point that its odor floats constantly on the breeze. Eating these peas was like being back in Marrakesh…

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Picking fresh peas is just th ebest – particularly if you happen to eat a few befor ethey get to the kitchen 🙂

  2. tedmanzer says:

    Your culinary concoction sounds delicious. It would be even better with a few new potatoes.
    Ted

    1. Sharon says:

      Ooh, yes! I’ve thought about digging around in the potato hill to find some, but I planted so few potatoes this year (just one pound of Yukon Golds) that I hesitate to harvest any of them small. Should I go for it anyway? I’ve never had new potatoes straight from the ground…

      1. tedmanzer says:

        If your supply is low, probably not, but creamed new potatoes and peas is one of the delicacies this Maine boy can’t get enough of. Throw in a few fresh grilled brook trout and everything climbs still another notch.
        Ted

      2. Sharon says:

        🙂 I’ll bet.

  3. garden.poet says:

    I take it that the toad is taking care of the slugs. 🙂 Those sound delicious!

    1. Sharon says:

      I guess so! We’ve had no substantial damage from slugs. Hooray!

      1. garden.poet says:

        That’s awesome! My peas were completely destroyed…and I fear taking down the fence lest the deer and rabits and everything else eat…well, everything else.

Leave a Reply

